Question: Few questions

Albo

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm new to keeping axolotls and thought this forum looked like a great place to look for info and ask questions! So I'll start straight away:

1. Can you tell from the picture if my axie is male or female? (if not let me know of a better angle to take a picture).

2. I bought him/her from a pet store on Monday (3 days ago) and he/she was missing the long gills (?) that they usually have. They have started to grow a tiny amount now. Why would this be?

3. Im assuming its a wild type, but I'd rather not assume. So could you clear that up for me? :p

Attachments

• Axolotl.jpg
    Axolotl.jpg
    76.2 KB · Views: 162
1. I personally can't tell the gender (Try to get a picture of its, er, underside. Males are fairly obvious 8D)

2. The gills or gill filaments could have been burned off by poor conditions such as high ammonia etc. If you keep it in good conditions, they will likely grow back!

3. Wildtype, yes :)

I'd guess male, but a better picture wouldn't hurt.

Sorry about picture quality, took it on a blackberry camera... :lol: I will try and get a better one. How do you tell the difference between male and female?

Yeah I thought the pet shop probably had him/her in poor conditions. They'd had it for about a year and said they wont be getting anymore in now they've sold it. The gills are looking slightly longer already so hopefully be back fully soon! I've kept tropical fish for a few years so I should be able to keep big dave (as he's called at the moment) in tip top water condition.

Thanks for confirming he is wild type as well :D

Sorry about picture quality, took it on a blackberry camera... :lol: I will try and get a better one. How do you tell the difference between male and female?