Soul meets Body.

Axoogje

Reaction score
Country
United States
So I have Soul (my axi) doing good and now with almost an all new set up. So i went out and picked myself up a marble wild type and respectively name it Body.

SO my question is:

I have 2 hides, an air stone, fake and real real plants, and a inside tank filter with flow control; all of this in a 29 gallon (pretty much same dimensions as a 20 gallon long just taller)

Is all good for me to introduce them? Soul is a full grown female about 8 inches long
and Body is about 5 inch and unsex'd as of now

They are past the cannibalistic state I'm sure but will Soul try to Swallow body?

i am letting the new one and some feeders float (in bag) till i pick my Girlfriend up from work in 15 mins. So Hopefully i get an answer soon lol.

Hello - I am COMPLETELY new to this so I'm not really sure, but you said you needed a fast response so I thought I'd repeat some things I had read.

In other threads, I've seen more experienced members talk about quarantining the new axolotl for a few days (I think it's 30?) to make sure it's not carrying anything nasty.

Hope this helped somewhat (?) Sorry you got a newbie reply!

Reactions: sde
Yes, You need to quarantine feeder fish before introducing them so they don't introduce diseases to your Axolotls most importantly. (I'm actually of the opinion you shouldn't use feeders at all - too many risks. Earthworms are a much more balanced diet and much safer. but that's just me).

ANYWAY If the smaller Axie can fit into the larger one's mouth - YES it will try to swallow it and should be kept separate. Axolotls will try to swallow anything that moves. if it even remotely seems like soul would be able to fit body in it's mouth you should keep them separate.

You also might want to invest in some more hides - the general rule I think is two per axie.

If you have an all new setup, is it cycled?