Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Broken leg?

NatashaDSaville

Reaction score
I think it looks pretty likely that my axolotl has just broken her leg, there is a lump just above her foot. I'm hoping that with some TLC she will recover.

I just wanted confirmation though on whether this is the case. I checked her out a little closer and it doesn't look like a growth, and I've only noticed this yesterday. Plus as I am new to this, I just want to make sure I am doing everything right.

She's about 7 months old, she is eating fine. In fact, she doesn't seem to want to stop eating (though I am only feeding her the recommended amount). It doesn't seem to be bothering her and she was happy for me to examine it. After feeding and/or adding fresh water into the tank, she tends to get pretty excited and swims everywhere, just up and down the tank and wedging herself into the plants. So I am assuming that she got this while doing that :( I have cleared a little 'race track' around the edge of the tank to help clear her path when she does this, but I am thinking she may have gotten this from the filtration system. She tends to wedge herself in there, and despite trying to block her entrance to it, she still seems to find a way in. So I taken away the obstacles to avoid her getting stuck there. She has this attitude of "it's either my way or the highway".

She has also caught her tail, so now there is a v shape tear in her fin. I've been keeping an eye on it, and it does look a bit better than it did before. I was so worried the tip was going to completely fall off!