Axolotl type

JessJesting

Reaction score
Country
United States
Alright finally got that axie I've been posting about! Thank you to ALL who gave me advice! I'm still learning about all the different types of axolotls there are so help me out! What kind is my new guy (or girl lol)? I can get better pictures I snapped these quickly in my excitement!
9aqe4e3y.jpg
epa5e4ad.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I can't see it's eyes properly. It looks like a leucistic. If it's eyes are solid black it is Melanoid leucistic. If it has a gold ring in its eye it's just a normal leucistic :)

It appears to be a normal leucistic to me :>

I do believe there is a golden ring in its eyes. I tried to get a better pic but being my stupid iPhone camera and so the guy is so little I couldn't get a good one of its eyes! Thanks guys! And the red coloring is his full belly am I correct?

The reddish/purple coloring in his belly are his organs :) as he grows bigger you will hardly see them.

Lol duh now I feel stupid. How do I know when to feed him again? Just try and see if he eats lol? I have him in this container until he gets a little bigger. Should I add an airstone or is that too much?

At that size they should eat everyday. I fed mine up to twice a day with smaller feelings.

Feed him bloodworms/blackworms until he seems uninterested in them. Clean out the tub and remove the worms and do again in the evening/morning.

A good indication of size if their bodies being as wide as it's head :)

If the airstone is gentle and container is large you could use one, but if it's too strong it could create too much turbulence and stress out your axolotl.

Thanks! I just got him today and the guy said they were already fed once. He was using frozen bloodworms which I already have cuz I use them as treats for my fish ! I have two containers I plan on switching back and forth so I can keep him in clean water. I can use conditioned tap water for him right? I use aquasafe plus for my fish.