Fire belly newt

Warwick

Reaction score
Country
England
Hi sorry, I'm new to keeping newts, but can anyone help me? I think my newts a male, can anyone confirm this, I looked on the links provided and I think my newts a boy?
9agaquqy.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

It spends a lot of time in the water, does this mean it's happy? And content? How do I know if it's stressed or not? He's feeding well :)

If its really stressed it probably wouldn't enter the water but, what's your setup like? Water temperature, Water volume, etc. And what's its staple diet?
And I suck at sexing H. orientalis, I thought I had 2.1.0 but I had 3.0.0
But I think you can also sex by the size of the tail, that males have shorter and taller tails.
And personally I would change river rock for sand or a bare-bottom tank to prevent waste to build up under the rock

Thanks for the reply I've not had the newt long a week about, I've put in brine from our pond, don't know if that's bad but it's been eating them a lot, also chopped up tiny bits of earthworm, it seems to be pigging out a fair bit, my waters about 10cm deep, I conditioned the water, and let it run for a week, (I have a siphon if that's how it's spelt) for the bottom of the tank. The newts seems to "hunt" in the stones, I was cautious of it swallowing stones, my waters really clear, my set up looks like this, it's got no heater, it's around 17 degrees are the stones bad for the newt? I don't seem to be having a issue with cleaning with them or keeping the water nice
nyhy4equ.jpg

The fish are not in there with the newt no more I read it's bad for the newt, plus it was determine to eat the small ones!!

There's a floating island but it never goes on it or out the water only up for air, hence me asking signs of stress, hope my set ups not to bad!! Thank u for helping me out