Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Tank filtration/plant filtration help

beemea

Reaction score
Hi, I'm in the process of setting up a new tank. I have never owned an axolotl or any other Caudata so I'm new to this. I've been reading and asking around for advice on what the best tank set up is and I was hoping to check if my plans would work and be safe for the axolotl.
I will be getting a 10 gallon tank (I'm hoping for a bit more length than the standard 20x10x10 inches). I'm probably not going to use substrate, if I do it will be sand.The main thing I'm wondering about are filters and plants.
My teacher keeps an axolotl and he has this plant/filter duo that he set up. The plant was kept in a milk/water jug (the plastic ones with handles) and he had running water coming out of this. He said that this was his filter. I'm guessing there was a filter in/coming through the potted plant. I'll try to post a picture of it later/ask him more details (he was in a rush when spoke to him).
I was thinking this might be a good idea but I was having trouble with figuring out how I would set it up and if it was even alright for the axolotl. Here are some of my questions/concerns: