Question: Preferred Containers for Raising?

Jon Aaron

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys!

So I finally took the plunge after years of wanting axolotls and decided to buy some eggs off of Bette here. I'm new to caudata, but not to aquaria - I've been keeping and breeding various tropical fish species for about 20 years now. I feel "comfortably nervous" about this new challenge, and I can't wait to get started!

My question to you guys today is regarding the containers you prefer to use for rearing your little axies. Do any of you have a preferred method for doing this? Do you prefer raising them separated, or together? What sort of containers do you keep them in?

The reason I ask is that I had an idea and was wondering if it would work. Basically, I have an empty, cycled 20 gallon long waiting for something to go in it. I was thinking about dividing the eggs/babies up into some the old breeding nets I have lying around, the idea being that they might benefit from the increased amount of water stability while still being kept in close proximity of their food. It will likely be their home eventually anyway, so there would also be reduced stress of moving.

Opinions? Thoughts? Just hoping to see what everyone thinks is the best route. :)

Current from a filter is too much for hatchlings to cope with, that's why babies are usually raised in non-filtered tubs with daily water changes.

I raise mine in groups. I use small (1L) containers to start - no more than 2" deep so the babies can find the BBS. Then I move them on to 5L containers once they are on bloodworm - at about 1.5". I thin them out as they grow. Then on to cycled tanks at 3" when they have their back legs.

Oh, I hadn't thought about the filter knocking them around. Good thing I asked!

I've never bred anything that required such accommodations when young. How exactly do you go about doing these water changes? The thought of accidentally dumping my babies out is horrifying.