Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Skin flaking, brown scabby lesions, pale gills, poor motor skills, happened within a day help!

RayGun

Reaction score
Hi! This is my first time owning axolotls, and they've been fine the last three months. I feed them worms and pellets, they have an exto terra repticlear fx 2000 filter, and they've showed no sign of illness before. But then my two leucistic males suddenly had brown spots on them and their skin is flaking, and one little guy (Charlie) was floating at the top of the tank not responding to me touching him at all. Normally if I touch him he'll swim off. I thought he was dead, and I took him out of the tank. It wasn't until he gasped for air while I was taking photos to post here that I realized he's still alive, albeit barely. I've got Charlie fridging right now, Lawrence (the other little guy) is still in his tank since he's much more active. The strangest thing is that my wild type girl is completely fine; not flaking, no scabs, active and happy. What do I do? What's making them sick and what can I do for them?
(note that the photo is taken with him out of the water because he looked dead, this guy is currently in a container in the fridge.)

Attachments

• photo 2.jpg
    photo 2.jpg
    88.8 KB · Views: 1,705

Bellabelloo

Julia
Staff member
Reaction score
The speckling of red dots and small blisters makes me suspect septicemia. This requires a visit to the vet ..the sooner the better.