Question: My axolotl doesn't like worms at all

Shivermetim

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone I am about 3 weeks into my new adventure of sharing space with two wild coloration axolotls I've done some research and understand worms are the best staple diet but pinky or the brain can't tell which is which will not eat them he will chew em for a bit spit it out n brood in the back till I hand feed him or her fish or shrimp the guy I got him from said shrimp from Kroger but im a little worried about that any ideas on a good food and I prefer not pellets oh and the other axolotl will eat worms but seems to not be happy about it but both eat fine and other than a little skinny as far as I can tell look very healthy tank average temperature 70 @high an 68 about as low as I can get it keeping steady im still working on ideas other than a 300dollar chiller this is my first time so please bear with me thank you any advice is appreciated

Attachments

• 20140607_170049.jpg
    20140607_170049.jpg
    53.6 KB · Views: 532
You can use a desk fan to help cool the surface of the water, you can reduces the temperature gradually, but be sure you don't let it yo yo as that's a sure fast way to kill your little darlings.

On the subject of worms, there are some good guides on here on food, there are different sorts of worms and some are more pleasing than others. Have you tried blood worms? You can usually buy those frozen.

If he's is used to eating other things, and hasn't been fed on a varied diet, this might explain his dislike of the new food you introduced him to. Worms are best, but if he doesn't want them try something else and come back to it.

There are sinking pellets and reptomin, which are floating ones, he might try those, least you can try to vary his diet and he can try new things, then he might get a taste for the worms. Good luck x