Firebelly newts potentially odd behavior

Bethany29

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello! I'm relatively new to owning newts and I was wondering if some of my 3 FBNs behavior should be concerning.

I bought my first newt, a female, about 6 months ago and recently added 2 new ones, a male and a female. Since introducing the new ones, the two females have been laying all over each other constantly and I'm not exactly sure what this means.... Are they fighting for dominance or just getting to know each other? Or maybe some weird lesbian newt mating ritual idk...

Another thing is that it seems like there's only ever 2 on the land area at a time, one of them (usually the male since the females are all other each other) is off swimming. Is this an indication that I need more land area for them to dock or just a coincidence?

Thank you!

I'm afraid it's an indication something's wrong, either with your set up, or with he newts themselves. All of the species sold as fire bellies by petstores are almost completely aquatic in captivity, so spending extended periods on land is bad. The good news is they are all relatively easy to look after as long as their basic needs are met. A picture of your newts and their set up would help us identify the species you have because the requirements of each type of fire belly are different.
There is a sticky thread at the top of the help section about Chinese fire bellies, have a read of that in the mean time, as most, if not all of the info in there is relevant to your newts.

Here's the setup. I don't know what could be wrong. I don't have a filter but I do a 25% water change weekly and then like 90% with the little sucker thing monthly

They have smooth skin so Japanese, right?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    146.7 KB · Views: 244