Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hello Everybody!

Tee

Reaction score
I'm new to owning an amphibian and I need some help! I ordered two fire belly newts to be put on hold for me from a store that is about an hour and a half away from my house. When I arrived at the store, I found three paddle tail newts and one was belly up and the store owner said he "didn't make it through the night". The one remaining newt had a messed up tail like something had bitten it, and the other remaining newt was fine. What had me right there was that not only did he order the wrong newt for me, but he left the dead newt body in the cage with the two live newts, one being injured. Normally I would have left because the situation was already ridiculous, but I drove an hour and a half so I thought I'd give it a shot.

My friend who went to the store with me took the bigger healthy newt, I took the trouble child. Within a day of having the newt white fuzz grew on his tail. It started growing at a fast rate. I tried an amphibian medication and it made the fungus worse. The newt also wasn't eating at all. I called the store owner and he said to use Erythromycin. I just used Erythromycin last night and the fuzz is going down and the newt is finally eating (frozen bloodworms).

Would anybody have any advice for what other steps I may take? I am so upset. This is my first amphibian pet and I don't want to lose him.

Chinadog

Super Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score