Using vitamin C to remove chlorine

keiko

Reaction score
Country
Finland
I was reading some aquarium stuff and came across something interesting.

In short, according to the article vitamin C would be added to a water bucket right after filling it with water. Chloramines would then break down to chlorine and ammonia. Vitamin C would take care of the chlorine and some ammonia would be left for the cycle to take care of. The water should then be safe to use in aquariums, though the water changes should ofcourse be smaller to avoid ammonia spikes.

Has anyone heard of this? Any more information? Would that work for axies?

I've never had to use any water conditioners since the only bad thing in my water is a little chlorine that I can get rid of by just letting the water sit in a bucket for a while before adding to the tank. So I have no experience with these things. But this would mean I wouldn't have to wait for the water to be ready to go in to the tank.

Most dechlorinaters will do exactly what you say by neutralizing chlorine and breaking chloramines into chlorine and ammonia. Chlorine will kill the bacteria and chloramines will not break down if you just let the water sit for a day or two. The amount of ammonia is negligible and won't cause a significant spike unless something is wrong with your tap water.

Vitamin C = citric acid. Adding acid to chlorinated water will eliminate the chlorine but will leave you with acidic water (low pH) and will not affect choramines.

I think I will stick to sodium thiosulfate thanks!