Sick Axolotl - various problems - Please Help

2axolotls2

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I'm new to raising axolotls, and actually just bought two here in Japan because a friend of mine recommended them. I knew basically nothing about them when I bought them, but did research immediately after.

I bought two juvenilles - one albino and one leucistic.
They are of different sizes, the albino is 10cm, and the leucistic is 6cm.
I knew nothing about them when I bought them, but I specifically asked the shop keeper if it was okay to buy two, and he said that they don't fight and that they get along well.
Well... Take them home, and in a few days, I found the leucistic one with the tip of its tail bitten off as well as a missing left leg, and a broken unmoving left arm.

It's now in the fridge (and has been there for about a week) and in accordance to many sites I've visited regarding the matter of broken limbs, I felt it best to amputate the unmoving front arm. Now, the leucistic basically has just stumps on its left side, with fully functioning limbs on its right. I've read that it takes time to regenerate and heal, so I'm not too worried about the limbs coming back slowly or anything. But, I am worried about it not eating or pooping.

I've read in the fridging guide that they make quite a mess within just a day which is why you need to change the water daily. Well, I've been doing so, and it has not pooped at all yet. I have kept the albino in a container during one of my first water changes, and I did notice how much of a mess it made - poop and everything, so I'm worried if there's something wrong with the leucistic one. I know that fridging it also slows the body down which is why it will most likely not eat, but, I'm still worried... It's not eaten or pooped in a full week, and it looks really sick.