Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Is this specific sand safe?

Cacique

Reaction score
Unfortunately I'm not too experienced. I would check why it claims to increase the growth of beneficial bacteria. If it's just because it gives bacteria more place to accumulate on then that's fine, as long as it's not something that is added in the sand.

bethinak

Reaction score
Unfortunately I'm not too experienced. I would check why it claims to increase the growth of beneficial bacteria. If it's just because it gives bacteria more place to accumulate on then that's fine, as long as it's not something that is added in the sand.

It says "Adding a substrate... increases the growth of beneficial bacteria, while adding to the aesthetic of the tank" so I don't think they add anything."

However, I'm reading its some people say its more like gravel than sand, so maybe not so good. Do you have it there? Does it look like sand?

Cacique

Reaction score
Yeah I think at that grain size it should be safe, sounds about the same as the black sand I had.

Lyssa

Reaction score
I tried it and my axololt started acting weird and I made sure to keep a close eye on him... he became very disorientated... almost like slow motion walking, and can hardly swim.. I don't think he can even make it to the surface. So I am taking them out, and he is now in the fridge. I'm sure he ate some and now he is sick... would not recommend to anyone... unless some how something else has happened the day I put in the sand..:mad:

Cacique

Reaction score