Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Not sure...

dragonwind2000

Reaction score
Hi, I'm fairly new to axolotls, but I've kept other newts and salamanders for years.

I'm not sure what the issue with my albino axie is, but she seems unable to keep herself upright in the water and tips to one side or the other. Also, she finds it hard to remain submerged and floats to the top.

Otherwise, she's very healthy and still eats a ton. No visible bloating or other signs of illness/injury.

She doesn't seem bothered by her condition but it's very puzzling to me. I'm just not sure what to make of this?

Thanks!

Derek

Boomsloth

Reaction score
What's the temp at and can you post pics?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

dragonwind2000

Reaction score
Here are some pics of the Axolotl in question. Water temp is good and the tankmate is doing just fine. As shown in the photos, she's having trouble keeping upright unless there's something for her to grab onto. Other than this, however, she seems perfectly fine and has a very healthy appetite.

Attachments

• 198.jpg
    198.jpg
    72.3 KB · Views: 108
  • 201.jpg
    201.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 104
  • 204.jpg
    204.jpg
    87.8 KB · Views: 114

dragonwind2000

Reaction score
Actually, those pics aren't very good. These are a bit better. Sorry, they're from my iPhone.

Attachments

• 193.jpg
    193.jpg
    78.6 KB · Views: 133
  • 196.jpg
    196.jpg
    92.1 KB · Views: 126

Lyssa

Reaction score
How long has she been doing that?