Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Does Dexter look normal?

Leander

Reaction score
Hi all!
I'm a total newb to caring for axolotls, and I'm looking for an opinion from you experts out there!
This is going to be kind of long, but bear with me. I want to give some environmental info first.
This is Dexter, and he's one of two new young axies that I brought home yesterday (Wednesday). I have had the tank (30 gallons) set up since the weekend, cycling to establish a healthy environment. The water in the tank is on the hard side, is at a temperature of 64-65 degrees F, and testing shows no nitrites and no ammonia. pH is between 7.5 and 8 (I need to buy a more accurate testing kit). I have a waterfall filter on the back of the tank, but I've dispersed the flow of it using a plastic water bottle with some holes in it to minimize current in the tank. Having said that, I do have an aerator in one corner to help oxygen saturation (and Casper, the other axie actually plays in it - he rides the bubble column up and floats back down over and over. It's adorable). I have a tonne of hiding spaces in the way of rock caves and plants (fake, because apparently axies don't like light too much, and I feared I'd have a hard time keeping live plants healthy without it- the filter is an Aquaclear bio filter though, and has an ammonia filter in it). The substrate on the bottom of the tank is sand, and there's nothing big enough for them to inhale when they eat.
Right now, they're on a diet of frozen bloodworms, while the brine shrimp I hatched recently grow a little bit.