The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Sick Axolotl? Axolotl looking down in the gills? The doctors are in.

Old 24th January 2015   #1
selkie

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: selkie has started on the right path
Default Neglected Axolotl

Hi,
I've been reading some of the threads here ..what an amazing forum! Being a novice I am hoping someone can give me some reassurance :)

A few months ago I "inherited" a Axy .
I think that Hikaru is a "wild type" She..I think it's she ..is sort of black/dark grey and is 7-8 years old

She she was bought for a ten year old and although loved, not very well cared for..through ignorance rather than willful neglect I think.

She's been kept in a decent tank set up, no gravel, a filter that slowly spills the water rather than gushes, tank is 40ltrs. a couple of good caves.

She got fed rather irregularly, sometimes once a week, sometimes twice and rarely had the tank cleaned, using straight Melbourne tap water, water partially replaced or just topped up maybe every 2 months. Kept at whatever the room temp may be.

Despite this, when I took her over about 6 months ago, she was (to my novice eye) reasonably healthy, not skinny, eating when fed, every 3 days, hiding, swimming around, walking on the bottom.. Her frilly bits (lungs) do seem rather small compared to some of the photo's I've seen.
I kept her in much the same conditions as he was used to..changing 1/3 of the water a bit more frequently maybe every 2 weeks. The tank looked clean with little waste at the bottom. I figured if this is what she had had for 7 years ..it must be right