The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate Discussions on tanks, temperature, filters, gravel, lights etc.

Reply

 

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 21st December 2017   #1
Aesyir
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 48
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Aesyir is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy My tank will not cycle :(

Hello, My tank has been set up for 2 weeks now and I was attempting to do a fishless cycle so I added 2ppm of ammonia (no sign of surfactants or scents ). I did an ammonia test today and its still about the same color of green that it was when i started... I tried some tetra safe start I wasnt counting on it but even without it I would have expected some change by now.... what should I do? Maybe my ammonia actually is bad? Should I just restart.. Any help is appreciated



Aesyir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st December 2017   #2
Hannah
(AxieLover21)
Junior Member
 
AxieLover21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 22
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: AxieLover21 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: My tank will not cycle :(

just keep it going if ammo is to high do a water change only 20% i think. About 4 to 8 weeks and it should be cycled



__________________
Hannah
AxieLover21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2017   #3
Aesyir
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Nationality:
Location: [ Members Only ]
Posts: 48
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Aesyir is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: My tank will not cycle :(

Nothing has changed still..... I just dont want to waste 8 weeks with a dud. I just feel something has to be wrong its still at 2ppm. If bacteria were colonizing I would have to see some change correct? I do use prime and was told it can kill bacteria but i waited more than 48 hours before doing anything... I guess I just have to believe it will work. This is driving me crazy, I just feel something is keeping the bacteria from colonizing in my tank



Aesyir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, cycle

Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads

Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia/Nitrite spike after overzealous tank cleaning....add Prime to tank? krenae Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 2 11th August 2017 20:03
Question: Axolotl tank, tank mates , filter & led bubble wall Newaxiowneruk Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 1 12th June 2016 23:02
Tank wont cylce Ammurrica Axolotl General Discussion 2 18th July 2015 14:22
The ELUSIVE 10 Gallon Long Tank? And other tank related questions! Icyriah Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate 2 2nd July 2015 03:24
Help please! Huge mutant infestation in tank, please help, axi-s gills and tank walls are covered in it. Rasa171 Sick Axolotl? 10 22nd March 2011 02:53


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:47.