The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Off-Topic Many people have requested an area of the forum in which to discuss topics not directly related to the rest of the forum (such as newt and salamander art).

Old 26th March 2016   #1
fafler

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: fafler has shown reliable knowledge
Talking Found a salamander, thought the be long gone

I want to share a story that happened to me the other day. It starts a year ago, when my brother, who is into spiders, brought me 4 juvenile fire salamanders from a trade show. I have very little experience in raising any newts or salamanders, and most of it in screwing things up. 3 of those died before they left the water. The fourth went on land sometime last summer and I placed it a terrarium with a lot of moss and roots. It immediately disappeared, and months went by without any signs of life, while I kept tossing in some earthworms and woodlice in there from time to time. In the autumn, my brother got me another fire salamander, an adult, and thinking I would never would see the small one, I put it in the same terrarium. Six months have since passed, the adult fire salamander is doing well. And then the other day, early in the morning, I was getting up from bed and going to the bathroom. Then something caught my eye. There was two fire salamanders in the terrarium. I stopped and stared in disbelief, thinking I wasn't really awake, but it really was there. The tiny 4 cm long and pencil thin brown juvenile I last saw last summer had grown to around 8 cm and have gotten beautiful yellow and black markings! Really plump and good shape. Obviously, it need it's privacy, and when I got back from the bathroom, only the tail was visible under a rock. Now I guess the only thing I need to do go dig some more earthworms and make it to big to hide all the time.