The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Axolotl tank set-ups, filters, substrate Discussions on tanks, temperature, filters, gravel, lights etc.

Old 6th June 2014   #1
charbean

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: charbean is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Filter and decor advice

Hiya newbie here, I'm looking for some help for making sure my tank is all set up properly before I buy my axies!

I'm getting a Juwel Rio 180 on Sunday which is awesome because it's 180 litres, over three foot long and a 1.5 feet wide so plenty of room for two axolotls.
The tank comes with a Bioflow 3.0 filter, so I was wondering if anyone has experience of these and know if they're any good or not? The filter has a heater on it too, so I'm happy that there won't be a chance of them getting cold in the winter (my apartment gets ridiculously cold at times).
Obviously I want to make sure my axolotls are happy from the start, so if it's too powerful I'll look into getting a different one.

Also, I live near a pebble beach and was thinking about getting some smooth rocks from the shore and building a little hide for them, would this be okay provided I clean them/put them in boiling water first?

Thanks!

charbean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2014   #2
fireball99

Nationality:
Rep: fireball99 has started on the right path

Hi, welcome to the forum.

If you're taking rocks from the beach they absolutely *must* be larger than your axolotl's head otherwise they could eat them and cause impaction in their gut. I have two rocks in my tank which are pretty much boulders (you can see one behind my Axl in my profile pic). They are as big as my axie and he has no chance of swallowing them. Make sure you give them a good clean but try not to use detergent as this can be transferred into the tank and make your axie ill.