The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Newt and Salamander Help Got a problem? Ill newt? Basic questions? Ask about them here.

Old 15th August 2009   #1
Newtster

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Newtster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Fire bellies with eastern newts ?

Hey Guys !
I'm new to this cool site, Whats your oppinion housing 4 Eastern Newts ( Notophthalmus viridescens viridescens ) and 4 Jap Fire-Bellied Newts on a 55 gallon take. Safe of Not.. ?
Thanks !

Newtster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2009   #2
Jose
(axolotlgangster)
Axolotl Enthusiast

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 1
Comments: 11
Rep: axolotlgangster has started on the right path
Default Re: Fire bellies with eastern newts ?

Look at this first. http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/M...isasters.shtml I think its not a good of an idea.

axolotlgangster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2009   #3
Johnny O. Farnen
(SludgeMunkey)
Site Contributor

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 42
Comments: 9
Rep: SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11SludgeMunkey goes to 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Newtster View Post
Hey Guys !
I'm new to this cool site, Whats your oppinion housing 4 Eastern Newts ( Notophthalmus viridescens viridescens ) and 4 Jap Fire-Bellied Newts on a 55 gallon take. Safe of Not.. ?
Thanks !

Not safe by any standard. Caudates in general do not mix well with each other. The two species you describe have different needs. The possibility of each species poisoning the other is high.

SludgeMunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2009   #4
Justin
(Greatwtehunter)
Prolific Member

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 298
Comments: 24