The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Axolotl General Discussion Open axolotl forum: if it doesn't fit in the sub-topics then post it here.

Old 5th November 2010   #1
brit

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: brit is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Bit of advice needed please!

Hi,
I am new to the world of axolotl, apart from the one i remember in the science lab at school .
I have a 24" x 15" tank set up to the correct parameters right substrate, pH, no direct sunlight, room temp water etc, i used the info on here for that. My axie is 4mths old and a leustic, i am currently feeding him bloodworm, chopped up fish and the odd koi pellet. He is mega alert n happy and of course i am now addicted is it ok for him to be on his own or will he get lonely? if so do i get another one and how do u introduce them? is my tank big enough for 2?

Loads of questions sorry but any help and pointers would be appreciated

brit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2010   #2
Steve Richards
(morphyrichards)

Nationality:
Rep: morphyrichards has given consistently good advice and informationmorphyrichards has given consistently good advice and informationmorphyrichards has given consistently good advice and informationmorphyrichards has given consistently good advice and information
Default Re: Bit of advice needed please!

It's fine for him to be alone, they aren't social creatures (although they do seem to get on well with other axies who are about the same size as they are).

You should consider feeding earthworms as the main staple food. Try reading these pages too ...
Axolotls - Feeding
Axolotls - Requirements & Water Conditions in Captivity
housing

morphyrichards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2010   #3
Eric
(Shizeric)
2010 Research Grant Donor

Nationality: