The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Sick Axolotl? Axolotl looking down in the gills? The doctors are in.

Old 16th January 2020   #1
Tinamlat

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Tinamlat is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Sick or morphing Axolotl URGENT!

Be warned, this is gonna be a fairly wordy post, sorry but thereís a lot of info.

This is my first time posting on here, so first, some background info.

I got my first Axolotl, Mushu, in April of 2019. He was gifted to me as a surprise so the first month or so was rocky because I had to cycle him in-tank, and Iím pretty inexperienced with aquatics. Fast forward a few months, no more stress, water parameters good, heís healthy and grew well but was still way small for his age and still is (heís only about 6 inches at about 10/11 months. I didnít realize how small he was until I got another Axolotl, Onyx, around Christmas. Overall he was healthy though, so I moved him to a 20 gallon and decided to get him a friend (Onyx). Yes I know 20 is on the small side for 2 but I didnít have the money or room for a larger one. They have been doing good together, Onyx looks healthy and happy, but over the past two weeks Mushu has been getting very ill. I stupidly did not quarantine my new addition, so that may have something to do with it, but like I said Onyx has been totally fine and it didnít happen right away. I have also been having some issues with the water parameters (mainly just nitrites for some reason) but I just did a 100% water change so the levels are fine now.

Symptoms heís been having

In the beginning

First curled gills, then curled tail
Prominent veins in tail and hind legs

Newer symptoms
Shedding slime coat
Itching gills
Gills recently beginning to recede
Skinny
Now refusing to eat anything at all
Sitting at the surface a lot
Going up for air often