Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Seeking Advice

deciscokid

Reaction score
Okay so I finally had the money for a new tank and I am new to the Axolotl community. I have a 40 gallon tank ready to go with the pH at 7.0-7.4 but 0.05ppm of ammonia is present. I will work to fix that in the coming days. So my questions for you guys are:
1) What age should I get?
Personally I am thinking juvenile at at least 3"
2)If not cannibalistic how many do you think I could hold in my tank?
Food recommendations other then salmon pellets?
Any advice/tips are welcome, I am very excited to have my first axolotl.
Also I am looking to buy from a member so if you are someone you know wants to pm me I can email you. Thanks

C

Cliygh and Mia

From what I heard, age doesn't matter unless your breeding or it is super old and at the end of it's life span, Ergo, 10-15 years. Feeding recommendation are small or chopped up earthworms, tweezer feed crickets and roaches, or to plumpen a skinny, sick or gravid female, waxworms. A feeding chart is here. Caudata Culture Articles - Food Items for Captive Caudates

aquaria

Reaction score
1. In my experience there's no such thing as totally non-cannibalistic axolotls--that's a myth perpetuated by breeders. That said, anything over 3" is big enough that if you keep them well fed they'll probably leave each other alone for the most part, assuming you have enough hides. Also, if you're buying online (from here or elsewhere) they probably won't sell anything under 3", maybe not under 4". You could also start with eggs, which is fun, but more difficult. It's also cheaper.