Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: Old filter cartridge for cycling - Please help!

SammyTheLotus

Reaction score
Hi everyone! :)
I'm a newbie at all of this, so forgive me if this question is a little dumb! I'm cycling my 30 gallon tank (and have been for about two weeks now!) And I've read that adding a filter cartridge to my tank from an already established aquarium will speed up the cycling process.
My sister offered to give me her old filter from her already cycled 25 gallon tank, but her fish recently just got over a case of fin rot and ick.
My question is that would the bacteria that caused fin rot/ick in her tank transfer over to my cycling tank through me using her old filter? Or would it be safe for me to use the cartridge to help along my cycling process?
I currently don't have any axolotl in my tank as I am not live cycling! So I just really want to be sure before I use it and accidentally contaminate my new tank!
Thanks in advance! :) :)

axolodemia

Banned
Reaction score
Hi everyone! :)
I'm a newbie at all of this, so forgive me if this question is a little dumb! I'm cycling my 30 gallon tank (and have been for about two weeks now!) And I've read that adding a filter cartridge to my tank from an already established aquarium will speed up the cycling process.
My sister offered to give me her old filter from her already cycled 25 gallon tank, but her fish recently just got over a case of fin rot and ick.
My question is that would the bacteria that caused fin rot/ick in her tank transfer over to my cycling tank through me using her old filter? Or would it be safe for me to use the cartridge to help along my cycling process?