Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Axolotl housed with Ropefish/Reedfish.

Cazhalsey

Reaction score
So I'm new in Caudata, but I've done extensive research and a lot of aquarium keeping comes by just instinct and intuition. I'm a first time Axolotl owner, unsure of the sex, but leaning towards it being a Male wild type, I've heard that Axolotl are notoriously difficult to keep with anything other than another axie; well I took it upon myself after having "Toothless" for several months and housing him with several dozen ghostshrimp as well as whitecloud minnows, both to act as alternate food stuffs and added life to the tank, that I would try something a little risky as well as unorthodox. As of about a week I purchased two very social and happy Rope/Reedfish to house with Toothless, I've read in one single post that in theory with enough room that it could be possible, but I wanted to put this theory into action, the tank rests at a steady 22/23 Celsius which is on the lower end for the ropefish, but still warm/cool enough for the two ranges to be happy. I keep toothless well fed on black worms as well as what's available, he's currently 7in or so and the two ropefish range from 8 to 9in long, and so far they are getting along great, one seemed to take a liking to toothless almost immediately and was very intrigued by this new tank mate and at night they alternate resting around one another but the ropefish always end up back around eachother. I just wanted to make an actual post of this topic for anyone else who may be curious on the prospect of housing the two species together or follow there progress.