Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Plant stuff

S

samuel

Ok, i just got anubias and java fern. I'm new at plant keeping so i have a few questions...
1. Do i need to quarantine my plants?
2. How long will the plants last on average?
3. Other special requirements?
4. Some of the leaves have small holes in em with brown spots, i plucked out the more conspicious ones, any need to worry?
Thank's in advance

Sarmuel

J

joeri

1. I never put plants in quarantine unless I see they are crowded with snails or I know I just have to use a product to remove small insects from it. Jusr make sure you wash the plants.

2. Both anubias and java fern are good plants. Java will grow slowly but will last. Anubias will last as well, but grows faster. In 3/4 of a year my anubias has trippled.

3. If you plant the anubias, make sure that the horizontal root (on wich your leaves grow) stays above the grind / sand. You may have to put it under at first if your plants haven't got enough roots yet, but remember to pull it out (a bit) later.
Your java is very nice as a decoration. It can cover anything; stones, wood, terracotta,... whatever. The only thing you have to do is to attach it to the place where you want it to grow. You can use an elastic to keep it in place.

4. You have done wisely. It's a rule that plants aren't in the best of shape when you buy them. In your tank they will settle and take their time to grow. Sometimes plants loose their leaves first and then grow new leaves. That won't be the case for your plants. The anubias is very easy going.
No need to worry in my opinion.

Good luck
greetings

J

jesper