The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Photo & Video Gallery The place to share and discuss photos and videos of newts and salamanders.

Old 6th December 2006   #1
morrissey

Gallery Images:
Comments:

Hello!
Here's my first Ambystoma maculatum, as I said before, I saw it in the pet shop with real bad and dirty condition, so I wanted to give them some advice...but finally the shop keeper keep promoting it to me and i got it home.
Here's 2 photos of it, since i'm new to spotted salamander, so I'm not sure for many things, should I treat him like Tiger Salamander too?
I use water now since the shop keeping him in about 4" water deep for several months, I'm planning to change soil basement but I think i should make it step by step. He's a little fussy guy, whenever I get close to the tank, he's a bit scared and running...
Click the image to open in full size.

Old 6th December 2006   #2
travis

Gallery Images:
Comments:

It will be good to transition him to a terrestrial setup. I don't see any reason why it needs to be a gradual process. I think he would do fine right off the bat....

Old 6th December 2006   #3
cameron

Gallery Images:
Comments:

That is very true. They spend most of their lives underground and avoid water until breeding season in early spring. Otherwise they are very terrestrial and where I live they can only be found deep underground but a small pool of water in the exhibit would not hurt it.Click the image to open in full size.

Old 7th December 2006   #4
jacob

Gallery Images:
Comments:

definitely get it some more land!

Old 10th December 2006   #5
morrissey

Gallery Images:
Comments:

Hi all!
Thanks a lot of the advice! I just bought my Ambystoma maculatum a new tank today, with soil based and moss. He seems love it and hiding into it once I put him inside! LOL!

Here are some pictures!Click the image to open in full size.