The longest running Amphibian Community on the Internet.

Tags Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Caudata.org Store

Notices

Axolotl General Discussion Open axolotl forum: if it doesn't fit in the sub-topics then post it here.

Old 27th December 2007   #1
Will Glover

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 0
Comments: 0
Rep: Will Glover has started on the right path
Default lost gills

Click the image to open in full size.Click the image to open in full size.
I got 'Dilly' in Aug 2007 looking like an Axolotl. (Left Hand Pic)
Today it looks like the picture on the right.
I thought it had been fighting with it's larger friend, as they were both in the same tank,
and had it's gills bitten off. It seems I was wrong and it has started 'morphing'.
I've put it in it's own tank and lowered the water level and added a log island.
So it can get itself out of the water.
I'm very new to this so I'd welcome any comments

Will Glover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007   #2
invertkurt

Nationality:
Rep: invertkurt has shown reliable knowledge

If it is in fact morphing it will be a fully terrestrial adult salamander. Scientists will argue about classification I'm sure, but consider it a Mexican tiger salamander. They should be kept in clean moist soil with some cover, a water dish, and prefer worms and soft bodied foods.

Also, check your water parameters. Axolotls do not normally morph unless there is a reason to, i. e. bad conditions, as they are essentially a fully-aquatic species.

invertkurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2007   #3
Kaysie
(Kaysie)
Site Contributor

Nationality:
Gallery Images: 45
Comments: 62
Rep: Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11Kaysie goes to 11