Chinese Warty Newts!

DITB

Reaction score
Country
United States
petshop had these today selling them as firebelly newts :errr: so i picked up 2...another the next time i go to the shop.also i have a few questions about them since this is a larger newt species(6in.) how big of a tank would 3-4 need? right now i have 2 in a 10 gallon with some broken slate rock(from the woods but i washed it in warm water) anyways here is the pics :kill:

displayimage.php

displayimage.php

displayimage.php

displayimage.php

also id like to ask my tanks have a pond snail infestation if my newts eat them will they get choked or harm them? i dont really want to get rid of the snails since i actually like them LOL but i will for my newts well being

A 10 gallon should be fine for two. I am new to this particular species as well and from what I understand P. chinensis can be somewhat territorial. You may want to at least wait for a few others with more experience to chime in before you house a group together. I could not tell from your pics but do you have a float so they can get out of the water? The rocks on the bottom are OK but just remember that it will be easy for uneaten food and debris to become lodged underneath them. Nice looking animals.
Chip

they have a peice of corkbark that floats around on so they can get out of the water and the snails take care of the uneaten food that gets out of the newts reach

Just remember that the snails are not going to eat all of the uneaten food nor are they going to eat the newts' waste. Also, the snails themselves will put out a certain amount of waste. Just as long as you raise the rocks a bit to siphon out underneath them when you do partial water changes then it should be fine. Just take care not to injure the newts in the process.
Chip

For 3-4 of them, I would recommend a 20-long (or standard 29) tank, minimum.