Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hmmmm, what can I do?

ali000

Reaction score
this is probably a bit cheeky :p
I've got a new tank (4ft) which is currenty cycling so i'm thinking ahead to how i'm going to decorate it,
I have chosen black sand for the substrate (It will show my albino off nicely and not give him too much light glare)
apart from that it's a blank canvas.
So I would LOVE your ideas and/or piccys of really fab set ups (I want it to be Axie paradise:D)

part of me is thinking at one end a sort of layered structure of rocks and slate creating many caves..... but i'm very open to ideas.

:D:D:D

xandert

Reaction score
Since I'm new to axies (currently awaiting the arrival of my first two), I can't be much help with the Axie paradise setup, I'm afraid. But I have a question. WHERE did you find black sand?!? I've seen black gravel here, which I know I don't want. But I haven't seen any colored sand at all. Just the natural beach colored sand.

Dawn T

ali000

Reaction score
Hi, probably not a lot of help to you, but it was at an aquatic centre attached to a garden centre in kent, I guess I could post you some, but it may be a bit expensive as 1 bag is quite heavy. they also had a grey/ash coloured sand which looked really smart and a very white sand. no artificial colours, blue's red's etc.
when looking about I think I saw an online shop selling black sand, I will try and find a link for you, although it's probably u.k based :rolleyes:
sorry I can't be any more help

xandert

Reaction score