Very New and Curious :) Help!

Kriltex

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hey, Im very new to axo's and to this thread but i am very interested in them since they are just so different from your regular choices in the pet store!. Basically, right now i have 2 tanks, A 7.7 Gallong and a 12 Gallon. I have two goldfish , One in each of those tanks. The reason for that is because one got sick with Ich so i put some medicine into it and put the healthy one into the bigger tank so he dosnt get infected. Anyway, the fish is getting better and i then came across the axos : ) they are so interesting and want one ahaha ^^ My only problem now is that i really want to use the 7.7 gallon tank to put one axolotyl in it! But thats the one which had the goldfish with ich and which was treated with 'Multi-cure' ( It contains Malchinite green which i hear is toxic for axo's ), So i really dont know what to do because the one which has the medicine in it is cycled, so i dont really want to do a 100% water change and start from scratch because i hear it takes 4-8 weeks to cycle a tank. Please help! : )

Hello Kriltex,

You have 2 options:

1. Purchase an activated carbon cartridge and place it into the tank that has the medicine in it and hopefully the activated carbon will adsorb all/most of the medicine. By the way, it's great that you realised that Malchinite green is toxic towards axolotls :D

2. Start from scratch. Completely empty out the tank and wash it thoroughly with baking soda; then restart the nitrification "cycle" again. I know this may seem tedious but patience is the key to a "cycled" tank. Also with this method, you can be sure that you have removed all of the pathogens that were brought about by Ich.

Goodluck with which ever method you decide to take!

Jay.

A tank that small is not appropriately sized for an adult axolotl. Your best bet is to just buy a larger tank and cycle it from scratch.