Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Hi new herpophiles

Red Eft

Reaction score
Hi everyone. My name is Sarah and I love salamanders and newts! I have 4 rough skinned newts that Ive had since they were eggs/just hatchlings, about 2-3 years ago. I also just got an adult female axolotl. Some of my favorites include red efts and pacific giant salamanders. I am studying Wildlife Conservation Biology with an emphasis on herps and a minor in Natural Resources. I am also interested in arboreal salamanders. I live in Northern California.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
I share your interest. I have rough-skinned newts and arboreal sals, both raised from captive-bred eggs/juvs. I would love to see a Pacific giant in the wild some day. FYI: you do realize that it's illegal to keep an axolotl in California?

Red Eft

Reaction score
I did not realize it was illegal. I got her from the University. Wonder of that makes a difference somehow.

Red Eft

Reaction score
They sell axolotls and tiger salamanders at the local pet shop, wonder if they know it's illegal, not that they'd probably care. I don't personally purchase animals from stores, all mine were given to me/rescued. I'm not going to release them into the wild or anything like that. I know axolotls are endangered in the wild (habitat loss) but are commonly found in research settings and as pets. Interesting.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
They are banned because captive Ambystoma pose a threat of interbreeding with the endangered Cali tiger sal. Sadly, there are people who do release pets into the wild, so thus the ban.

newtons13

Reaction score