Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

whats wrong???

axyste

Reaction score
my axolotl has lost its gills and white spots on its head and lost bit of tail whats wrong??
Image002.jpg

Image003-1.jpg

Image006.jpg

plz tell me whast wrong

AGreenDarkness

Reaction score
Is it possible something is off with your water quality? I am new at this so I am not sure but normally when something is going wrong with gills, like if they are disappearing for instance, then the water quality is bad. I would say that it is trying to metamorphose since the gills are disappearing but that rarely ever happens.

Perhaps it has a fungus or something? Don't take my word on anything, I am just trying to post a reply so you don't feel completely lost.

The tail looks as though he/she might have gotten a cut on something? I know I used to have sharp objects in my tank and my little one cut herself a few times. Hopefully someone posts something that will really help you figure out what is happening..good luck!

IanF

Reaction score
From all your other post Axyste, I'd say the problem with your Axolotl is your water quality, the gravel on the bottom of your tank, and its previous tankmates. The loss of gills might have been from the fish biting them and poor water quality. I would recommend stabilising the tanks water, removing the gravel and switching it with a proper substrate. Mabey try to do this as son as posibble, and mabey even fridge the Axolotl while you change things around.

AGreenDarkness

Reaction score