Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

stress coat?

superfin

Reaction score
:DHi all.I was wondering if aquarium pharmaceuliticals stress coat with aloe vera is good for my newts (chinese fire bellied newts).:confused:

chris:wacko:

p.s thank you in advanse for any helpful advice:happy:

superfin

Reaction score
It is also a dechlorinizer and that is what i need:D and is nitrogen harmful in a tank?

Chris:wacko:

p.s I'm sorry about not knowing about the nitrogen.I only have a very basic knowledge when it comes to newt keeping but I'm still learning:happy:

ferret_corner

Reaction score
Simply letting the water sit will dechlorinate it. It is not a necessary product. I'm so glad I have a well, lol.

Sharon

superfin

Reaction score
OK thanks Sharon and kaysie:D i will evacuate my newts to a temporary tank.Also how long do I have to let it set preciously?:confused:

oregon newt

Reaction score
Simply letting the water sit is not an effective way of removing Chlorine or Chloramine. Depending on different factors, it can take a while for chlorine to dissipate, plus it will not even get rid of Chloramine, which can cause harmful ammonia spikes. Get dechlorinator that removes chlorine and chloramine.

ferret_corner

Reaction score
Honestly when I lived in town we had water with so many additives it was bad to use in your pool or for plants. Now I don't understand how in the world water that corrosive (ruined the finish they said) could be good for you to drink. I didn't think the dechlorinators etc would work so I just bought filtered water from those machines.

But letting water sit works for a friend of mine who has 300gl saltwater tank & multiple freshwater tanks.