Can you recommend a good aquatic?

Aquatic

Reaction score
Country
United States
I have been working with axolotls for about 3 years now. I have raised a few clutches from my original pair, and was looking towards diversifying into other aquatics. What else is out there that has similar care to an axolotl? I was leaning towards Spanish ribbed newts, but I really have not seriously explored what else is out there? What can you all recommend?

There are the "new" axolotls, Ambystoma andersoni. I don't know if there are any for sale right now, but they will probably become commonplace within a few years. Ribbed newts are a good choice for a fully aquatic species.

Would you want the species to be aquatic for all of its life cycle (i.e., would you be expecting to raise young some day)? And do you care about whether it's available captive-bred vs. WC?

Though there not entirely aquatic, I would have to suggest chinese fire belly newts. Also I have had good luck with red spotted newts. As for fully aquatic you cant get much cooler or easy to keep than paddle tailed newts.:happy:

The larger fully aquatics (Siren, Necturus, Pseudobranchus, and Amphiuma) are another choice. Although if you are interested in CB individuals it may be more difficult to find them for sale. I have seen some Pseudobranchus CB though recently, you should check out Caudata Culuture for these genera.

This site has that new axolotl species for sale kinda spending. They also have dwarf sirens and just sold out their lesser sirens. About a week before I went to order one, now I cant find anywhere else that has lesser sirens for sale. http://www.reptilesncritters.com/salamanders.php

I recommend a bit of time on Caudata Culture's species pages....that is where I go when I need to talk the wife into a new addition to the zoo...;)