New to Newts :)

Gregh

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Display Name
Greg
I'm completely new to newts but I bought this at a pet store as a "firebelly", I think it's Pachytriton labiatus from reviewing this site's information (I've looked through the stickies, there's some great information in here) but I'm not sure so here's some pictures:

SSPX0158.jpg

SSPX0157.jpg

SSPX0164.jpg

Here's a rock I had in there for him to climb but I felt it might be too coarse and rough for him, so i took it out
SSPX0166.jpg

And here's the worst idea i've ever had that followed :) it's an upside down fish bowl with rocks on top, i dont think he even fully understands that nature of it's existence, though he still hides behind it. Frankly I'm looking for a better solution.
SSPX0168.jpg

Also I'm in university right now, and live food just isn't a viable option. worms and crickets jsut wouldn't work out, I'm looking for frozen goods but i need a list of products or things that can be easily had that I can feed this little guy. Right now I have some betta food in the form of dehydrated blood worms they gave me at the store, but it seems inadequate. I'm likely going to pick up some tubifex tablets to give them a shot in a few minutes. I knwo a store I may be able to order things from so any suggestions for just plain DEAD newt food would be appreciated :) I'm more than willign to store frozen foods.

I figured I'd post this up as a general "i'm new, how can i avoid killing my little friend" thread to what seems to be the only real online group of knowledgeable newt owners. I have an algea eater in with him, but it's large and there's no way the newt will go after him, and he's been peaceful in return thus far, any comments on that are good too.

Looks like a Labiatus to me. For food most people feed them bloodworms, which can be frozen and are fairly easy to get.