Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Are these guys healthy?

A

AmandaLyne

I just got these 2 guys a few days ago. One male and one Female. I notices some gold kina spots and never owned them before so i want to know if its normal. Sorry about the blood worms in the pictures i just fed them. Also any suggestions on the tank. I am new to these guys and want to make the best for them.

156.jpg
158.jpg

IanF

Reaction score
The one on the left looks good, the one on the right looks like it's gills are abit short but that might just be it's genetics or a previous illness. I'd suggest adding a small air pump just to give the water more oxygen, I find it helps. The water also looks abit murky, perhaps it's the photo though.
Over all, it looks fine, just keep it clean and cool and your Axolotls will do fine.

Ian

E.T.A- Gold spots are just markings, they can randomly develop them, so nothing to worry about.

A

AmandaLyne

The water is murkey...The filter is going but has not helped. I dont know how to get it more clear.

A

AmandaLyne

ok ill try that tonight. Thanks. I also wanted to know is it safe to use water conditioners and Chemicals with Axtolols? I am mainly asking about the stuff to clear cloudy water

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
The gold spots are a perfectly normal part of their coloration. Nice looking animals!

The water isn't very murky, I wouldn't worry about it. If you keep up the regular partial changes (20%) it will eventually clear on its own. You know about cycling the tank and watching out for ammonia, right?

Kaysie

Site Contributor
Reaction score