Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

How to take picture of Axi's???

A

AmandaLyne

This may be stupid but how is everyone getting such good shots of their axis?? Everytime i get some they are either blury or the flash has reflected off the glass? I have Rebel xti. PLEASE help me take some better pictures LOL

Aquatic

Reaction score
Without a doubt it's HARD. Here is the best I could get of a male axie I have. I was desperately trying to get a shot of his gonads. This is the best I could do.
SeansChristmasPagent031.jpg

I don't think I accomplished much.

geosheets

Reaction score
ahhh, an area I have some experience with... not necessarily good experience but here are a few tips that I have learned about in tank photography. Some or all of these may be obvious to most but it took me countless hours to figure it out. Maybe because I'm a slow learner.

First of all, make sure your glass that you are shooting through is spotless.

Flash reflection - I have found that a 30-45 degree angle(up, down, sideways) to the glass and keeping the camera lens as close as possible reduces this to almost never an issue.

Blur - this is mostly from movement. I have to rest my hand on something or use a tripod to keep from blurring my photos.