Question: What is the normal growth rate for axolotls?

swalter

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Sabine
We have a batch of axolots growing that hatched at the end of October 2008. Now (in January 09) they are only about 3 cm long. Am I too impatient or are they really growing too slow? Water temp is 22 degrees celsius and the water does contain the Hofsteadter's solution as mentioned in the axolotl.org pages. We've been hatching brine shrimp eggs and offer brine shrimp to the axolotls twice daily. Should we switch to frozen blood worms or axolot (salmon) pellets? check the pictures I placed in my album. Thanks for any comments!

I’m new to axies but looking at your pics, I have to wonder if they are actually getting all the food you give them. They seem to have a decent amount of water to have to search for food and then add the complexity of the bottom with all the rocks. It looks to me like there are a lot of places for the brine shrimp to hide.

By the way, I love the ‘divider abuse’. Reminds me of some of my past tanks except my dividers were homemade.

Personally, I believe that they are probably a bit too small for their age. I noticed that they back legs haven't formed properly yet, or is that just me? Anyway, I think that you should try putting them into a small space. I think that is would be worth trying them on frozen blood worm (thaw it first), but you have to offer it more than twice a day. I would try four times a day for awhile and see how that goes.

Hello,

I have larvae at a similar age to yours (hatched 21st October). I have two that are less developed but 5 that have all four legs and are around 5 - 6cm. I have kept them in small containers feeding initially with daphnia, then onto baby earthworms. I have this week transferred them to a 3 foot bare-bottomed tank and they are now all eating baby earthworms (from my wormery) They seem to be growing well.