axolotl not eating..

AxoBreeder

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Display Name
Ravelle
I generally never had to hand feed my axies as they lernt to find it for themselves, but i noticed two of them becoming very very thin. So i have even tried hand feeding them, and they will not eat. the tank is clean and large, what could be the reason? I think they are not far off withering away they are so thin....:confused:

How big is your tank? How warm is your tank? Is your tank cycled? What kind of food are you offering?

My tank is 300 litres, it has 4 axolotls in it, with plenty of caves and plants. it is at 22 degrees at the moment, and it has been cycled for a long time haha about 2 years. I feed them frozen baby turtle food and earth worms, sometimes frozen cichlid food ect. They have been fine up until a few weeks ago, nothing has changed in what im doing, i clean my tank once a week with a 30% water change ect. I worked in the aquarium industry a good while, but im not sure if this is just an axolotl thing happening.

Hi Ravelle,

I know you are a good axie owner since i met you in person as well :p. Lets try to determine what is the cause for the inappetance and weight loss.

Inappetance and loss of body condition can be caused by three main factors - stress, illness and spontaneous morphing.

Since your tank is well cycled and there is no change in husbandry, it would be easier to rule out if environmental stress is the cause. Summer in sydney is really warm so has there been incidents where the water temperature crept up or had wild fluctuations? How are the current water chemistry parameters?

Have you seen any other accompanying signs of stress and illness like forward facing gills, curled tail tip, lesions, sores and other abnormal behaviour? Would you classify the weight loss and inappetance as acute or chronic over a long period? Has there been a change in body conformation?