Question: My Substrate

Malx

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm new to the whole Axolotl thing and my axolotls are kept on quite large, smooth stones. It's called "Amazon Gravel" but it's much bigger than normal aquarium gravel. Is this ok? Also, when I got my axolotl I realised the two front legs were missing but the back ones are fine. Will my axolotl be ok? They both seem to be settling in and eating well.

From what google has showed me on a search for Amazon Gravel and from what I remember possibly seeing it in a store once upon a time - the stones are too small and can be ingested.
Even stones larger than the head of an axolotl can be swallowed or at least sucked in by the vacuum they create when feeding.
If you're going to have large stones for a substrate I recommend having them a minimum of half the size of your axolotl.
However the BEST substrate is none at all, coming in at second place would be fine play sand.