Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Newt noob: unable to get to surface??

tashaxlinda

Reaction score
Hi, I just got my fire-bellied newt yesterday and wanted to know about his ability to climb the sides of the plastic tank... he seems to be having difficulty getting to the surface of the water to breathe, he tried to get to the floating plant I have for him by swimming but he seems to get weighed down a lot, maybe, I'm not sure. How often should he be going to the surface and is he supposed to have difficulty climbing the sides of the tank? I'm new at this so I don't know what to expect, I don't want him to drown...

vistajpdf

Reaction score
Newts certainly have the ability to climb and escape. I'm wondering if there's any true land areas for him that he doesn't have to cling onto like the floating plants? I have a 10 gal. tank that is mostly water, but slopes up w/ small rocks (not small enough to be ingested - be careful) to create a small land area that also has a shelter on it. I would definitely create such an area that isn't solely something he must cling to in order to be out of the water. He might be able to climb easier if he's not wet, not that you want him escaping, so keep a lid on the enclosure. Mine also went through the typical terrestrial phase you read about elsewhere on this site, but now have completely returned to the water as sexually mature adults (with babies to prove it!)

Dana

Azhael

Site Contributor
Reaction score