Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

My Neurergus kaiseri laid some eggs

monkeyfrogman28

Reaction score
Yep my Neurergus kaiseri gave me some eggs, i seem to be finding more on a daily basis which im not complaining haha. This is my first time trying to breed these guys and it worked, If i had a good picture i would take some pictures, but my camera is really bad. When they hatch and grow a little bigger i will post pictures

Reactions: 454

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Re: my Neurergus kaiseri layed some eggs

Yes, please, all the gory details.:D Congratulations!

monkeyfrogman28

Reaction score
first off, i had them in a fully terrestrial setup for about 4 months, then for a half a month like 3 weeks, i set it up so it was half terrestrial and half aquatic, THen within 3 days of putting them in a fully aquatic setup with a decent filter that produced a slightly fast current they laid eggs for me. I am removing the eggs to a different tank just in case the parents try to eat them. I gave them plenty of large rocks and plants to attatch their eggs, and they seem to prefer the plants more. but still laid some on the under side of a rock. I have only used a 10 gallon for the pair threw the whole process. OH yea i let the temps drop around the time i put them in a fully aquatic tank.

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Thanks! Can you define what you mean by "let the temps drop"? Exact temperatures are rather critical for N. strauchii, so it would be nice to know what temps are enough to get kaiseri going. Do you plan to move them back to a terrestrial setup after breeding?

grius

Reaction score