Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Feeding a Eurycea Lucifuga

Cherokee

Reaction score
I'm having trouble feeding this little salamander. He ate a worm when I got him last week, but he won't take anything now. I was just wondering, do you have to hold the food up to them or put it in a dish? I tried again a few nights ago and he struck at it, hitting it with his closed mouth then turns his head away, he repeated that 3 times, finally retreating to a hole in the rock. I guess that means he's not hungry? I read that they only need to be fed twice a week, so should I wait longer? I'm new to this, so I really don't know if I'm doing it right. I think when he sees my hand he gets scared, that may be the problem.

nate

Reaction score
That particular species keys in on movement, so you'd have much better luck feeding it things like crickets or roaches - things that scurry. They do occasionally eat a worm. But more often than not, they strike the worm, but it does not stick to their tongue due to the moisture, and so they lose interest.

Cherokee

Reaction score
Should I just put crickets in the terrarium for him to hunt then?
Also I need to know what kind of filter do you all use? Would a regular Whisper filter set down in 2 inches of water be ok, he would not climb into it would he?

Jennewt

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
What do you mean by "regular Whisper filter"?

IanF

Reaction score
What do you mean by "regular Whisper filter"?
I think he's refering to this type of filter but I could be wrong.
d_6204.jpg

Cherokee

Reaction score
Yes an aquarium filter, the brand is called Whisper. I suppose I need one, but what works well in 1/2 inches of water?