Close to morphing time...

SludgeMunkey

Reaction score
Country
United States
Display Name
Johnny O. Farnen
So my Cynops ensicauda popei are very near to morphing...I think.

(Forgive me, I am relatively new to species that go terrestrial)

While I have read tons about them, I am unclear on how to provide "land" for them at this stage.

They are about 2 inches long, give or take, and their gills are getting significantly smaller. I have noticed them swimming rapidly to the surface to take a gulp of air. (Not even sure if that is normal for this species) The largest of the colony tend to hang out very close to the surface on the java moss I have in their tanks.

Should I just add a floating island for now or should I lower the water level enough that the moss breaks the surface and provide a floating island? Or, should I go ahead and move them to a tank with a solid terrestrial section?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

AW: Close to morphing time...

A floating island e.g. a piece of cork bark or something similar will be sufficient. The "morphs" you find on top of the bark may be transferred to a more terrestrial setup. Make sure however, that your container is escape-proof already at this stage, as they will occasionally leave the water (and the container at worst) before going permanently terrestrial.

Thanks for clarifying the situation for me!

Today, I completed transferring the larvae to new tanks based on size. (Was getting a bit crowded in the original rearing tank).

The largest and closest to morphing have cork bark islands in place.

The new rearing tanks I built have well ventilated, escape-proof covers installed.

Last edited:
If they are swimming in the surface, then they are trying to get out of water.
Don´t keep advanced larvae without a terrestrial area because they can easily drown.
If the gills are being reabsorved, they are gulping air and the belly has at least partially the adult colours, then it´s time to be terrestrial.