Species mixing

malduroque

Reaction score
Country
United States
I just got done reading the 'Species Mixing Disasters' article. Much of it was sensationalist, circumstantial and perhaps even apocryphal. The vast majority was simply the obvious. The moral of many were "Don't mix species from vastly different environments" and "Don't mix species of vastly different sizes" Uh, yeah. Just simply recalling the amphibian credo - "If it moves and I have even a chance of fitting in my mouth, I'm going to eat it!" - could have eliminated most of those disasters.

Some have taken the stories of these victims of the tragically obvious and used it as "proof" for their cult like campaign of never mixing species. I see it all over the 'net when herps are discussed. I even saw someone on one of those answers web sites respond to a questioner with "I've been collecting herps for 5 years and everyone knows that you never mix species."

Wow, 5 years! Well, I've been herping since 1965 (and yes, I'm fully aware how old that makes me) and seeing that and other similar statements stated in such absolute terms makes me want to scream, "Wrong!!!!"

Now don't get me wrong, there are many, many combinations that will not work, even same species in the same tank is sometimes a risk with some, but again, to state it with such certainty and as in the above reference, so arrogantly, just tees me off. Instead of telling these herpers, many of them inexperienced, never to mix species, how about telling them the truth - that though not mixing species is a good general rule of thumb - some combinations can work. I wonder if some these single species apostles have ever even tried some combinations or do they just believe what someone else has told them with a religious-like faith?