Salamanders that can tolerate a 20-26 degree celsius temperature range

AU SalamanderRG

Reaction score
Country
Philippines
Are there any Urodelans that can survive in this range? Asking because I live in the Philippines. Yes, tropical, near the equator Philippines.

I am, however, willing to do what I need to cool them if necessary.

Most all salamanders or newts would be comfortable at 20-22C but 26C is almost a death sentence for most of them. I can't think of any of the top of my head that would survive 26C for very long. Maybe someone else could chime in with more specific information.

I have to agree with Justin on this one. The information he provided is spot on in my opinion.

Even given the temperatures in their home range, those little fellows still like it cool. It appears the few streams they inhabit are in deep ravine and cave like and remain in the shade most of the day, coupled with cold mountain fed water. However, I am by no means an expert on this species, and basing my statements off of research from the web.

I could be completely wrong.

So, at least, what would be the most efficient way to get my temp down? I live in the Philippines and indoor temps are around 26, so either keeping temperature tolerant salamanders or cooling down the temps of the terrariums/aquariums seem to be my current options now.

Hi,
Keepers in warm climates are normally reliant on air conditioning to lower temperatures, although this presents a significant risk should your power supply fail. Thermal tolerances are generally lessened if the temperature change is not gradual - in other words, caudates don't do well with sudden temperature increases i.e. your air con stops. I personally wouldn't attempt to keep temperate animals as pets if I lived in a tropical or desert environment. I'm not sure I could cope with the stress :errr:.

This article has some ideas for cooling tanks: http://www.caudata.org/cc/articles/cooling.shtml