Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

Question: How cold is too cold for c. ensicauda popei

merk199

Reaction score
Well I have moved and my popei juvies are resting comfortably in the basement. How cold is too cold for these juvies. They were doing great in my prior apartment holding steady at 74F. Now they are in the basement and the temp ranges from 58 to 60 degrees. Is this too cold? Should I get an amphib heating pad to raise the temp? They look fine to me but I am a noob so what do I know. These last couple of days have been the first time I have seen all six out at once. Are they out because they are cold and are looking for warmth, or are they out because they are happy? They are eating as far as I can tell though the number of flies eaten per day may have gone down since I did have leftovers walking around today. When the temp was higher there was never any flies left after 24hrs. I am planning on feeding blackworms tomorrow and we will see how many are left after 24hrs. Usually they are decimated by the juvies. I hope the lower temp is good for them. I am curious to see how hot the basement will get when we have a few 90 degree days back to back. I am hoping on a ten degree rise....Then I can get some more cool manders....:D

SludgeMunkey

Reaction score
Looks to me like your temp ranges are still within standards...low end of the standards, but fine. Mine are at about 58-65 depending on the time of day and the ambient temp outside.

Steve Roman

Reaction score