Caudata.org: Newts and Salamanders Portal

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!
Did you know that registered users see fewer ads? Register today!

How old is my Axie?

Fumi

Reaction score
Hey! I'm new to Caudata and new to Axolotls too. I've been researching them over the last few months, but it was only on Saturday that I brought home my new family member - a tiny white axie. What I really want to know is how old she is. The store didn't seem to know. All they could tell me is that they had her for about 6 weeks. I wonder if anyone could make an educated guess? I have uploaded photos of her.

I say 'she', because I'm sure she has reached sexual maturity (her toes look dirty and I've read that this is a sign that she has matured) and going by the examples on the http://www.axolotl.org/ site, I'm fairly sure I have a little girl. She is about 4 inches long - it's difficult to tell as she's never flat against the glass of her tank. She seems very thin but I put this down to the fact that she is young. I realise that she probably isn't that tiny as far as axies go, but to me she's miniature.

Would also love to hear tips anyone has for a nooby like me. Different ideas for food? She had her first worm today and I cannot believe how fast she ate it! She also shook a little while eating it. Was this her way of keeping it from escaping?

Attachments

• FumiWeb.gif
    FumiWeb.gif
    37.9 KB · Views: 139
  • IMG_1771.JPG
    IMG_1771.JPG
    47.5 KB · Views: 175
  • IMG_1798.JPG
    IMG_1798.JPG
    50.8 KB · Views: 169
  • IMG_1784.JPG
    IMG_1784.JPG
    52.3 KB · Views: 168

ianclick

Reaction score
Hi Fiona,

at that size I would guess somewhere between 6 and 8 months, enjoy your new leucistic axolotl

Darkmaverick

Site Contributor
Reaction score
Hi Fumi,